Nebraska Statehood

Nebraska became the 37th state on March 1, 1867.  The capitol was originally in Omaha on the present site of Central High School, but was soon moved West, to Lancaster, later renamed Lincoln after the recently assassinated President of the United States, Abraham Lincoln. Nebraska means “flat water” and is an Otoe Indian term referring to the Platte River that flows through the state. The state motto is “Equality Before the Law”


Here is a list of state symbols:

  • Bird: Western Meadowlark
  • Flower: Goldenrod
  • Gem: Blue Chalcedoney, commonly called blue agate
  • Grass: Little Bluestem
  • Tree: Cottonwood
  • Fossil: Mammoth
  • Rock: Prairie Agate
  • Mammal: Whitetail Deer
  • Insect: Honeybee
  • Fish: Channel Catfish

 Some fun facts about Nebraska from Nebraska Facts and Trivia :

Nebraska is the only state in the United States with a unicameral legislature (meaning a single legislative chamber). All other states have a bicameral legislature (house and senate).

Nebraska was once called “The Great American Desert.”

J. Sterling Morton founded Arbor Day in Nebraska City in 1872.

Nebraska has more miles of river than any other state.

The famous architect, Edward Durrell Stone, designed the Stuhr Museum near Grand Island, Nebraska.

If you have never been to Nebraska here are just a few tourist attractions you need to see:


Nebraska Facts and Trivia

Nebraska Facts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *